Calendula Infusion: The In-a-Hurry Cheater Method 

Anytime I’m making an infused oil with herbs or flowers, I do it the old-fashioned way: I fill a mason jar 3/4 full with my herb or flower and then pour in an oil like olive, sweet almond, or fractionated coconut oil.  My choice of oil usually depends on what I plan on making with the infusion, like eye serum, lip balm, or a nice soap additive. 

When everything is in the jar, I close the lid tightly and store it in a cool dry place for about 4 to 6 weeks. 

Sometimes, though, I can’t wait that long. Our baby is teething right now and one of the side effects of teething is a nasty diaper rash. Basically, I need a calendula infusion in a hurry, so that I can make my all natural diaper rash balm. Quick Cure Diaper Rash Balm  | Take a Shower With Me https://lodgecreeksoapco.wordpress.com/2016/06/30/quick-cure-diaper-rash-balm/

Today I’ll be using the cheater method for a quick infusion. I’m fresh out of the actual flowers, so I used powdered calendula flower from Nature’s Garden and filled it 3/4 of the way full in a 4 ounce thoroughly clean & well dried baby food jar. 


I then poured fractionated coconut oil from Purely on the top of the calendula, stirring as I poured, until the oil reached just about the top of the jar. 


When it was thoroughly mixed, it turned into a fugly shade of brown and I hate that. If I still had the actual flower buds in stock, my mix would be a pretty golden color. But like I said, I’m in a hurry, so I’m not too concerned about what it looks like. I placed the jar with the oil and calendula combo in a pan of water and set the stove to medium low. 


I’ll let it simmer this way for about three hours. Using this method speeds up the infusion process so that I can use it right away. 

What about you? What types of methods do you use when you make herbal or flower infusions?

One thought on “Calendula Infusion: The In-a-Hurry Cheater Method 

Leave a Reply

